Food and Chakras

Eat Foods By Color & Meaning to Heal Your Chakras


When working on the root chakra, eat red foods. If you pay attention to the colors of food that you crave, it will help you to know which chakras need to be worked on.

The Seven Most Talked About Chakras

Chakras are the physical body’s energy centers and in Sanskrit they are called wheels. Below you will see the seven most talked about chakras, learn their names in Sanskrit and English, their colors and other information. Click on the arrow for each chakra for more information.

The Root Chakra / Muladhara

Root Chakra Symbol

The root chakra is red and located at the bottom of our spine. This is the foundational chakra for the others. It signifies grounding and stability. Our energy should be grounded in Earth.

According to Jamal (2013) red is for energy and foods such as tomatoes, raspberries, strawberries and beets will help if you feel lazy, run down and lethargic. They will boost your temperature and energy levels.

The Sacral Chakra / Svadhisthana

Sacral Chakra Symbol

The sacral chakra is orange and located beneath the belly button. This chakra signifies creativity.

According to Jamal (2013), orange is for confidence and self worth. to boost your confidence and and feeling of worthiness, eat oranges, mandarins, carrots, mangoes, carrots, yams, squash, and pumpkin in order to make a huge impact on your feelings.

The Solar Plexus Chakra / Manipura

Solar Plexus Chakra Symbol

The solar plexus is yellow and located between the belly-button and heart and effects our confidence. This chakra concludes the lower chakras. These lower chakras have more to do with the physical rather than the spiritual. We are divine spiritual beings having a temporary human experience and must be balanced between the physical and spiritual and is why we should be grounded to Earth while still able to connect with our divinity.

According to Jamal (2013), yellow is for joy. Bananas are helpful in balancing depression, and is also the case for when you are feeling sad or emotional. Yellow peppers, fresh pineapple and sweet corn on the cob help as well.

The Heart Chakra / Anahata

Heart Chakra Symbol

The heart chakra is green and located where the heart is. It is wise to live within this space where unconditional love for yourself and others take place.

According to Jamal (2013) green is for rejuvenation. If you are lacking energy, feel overworked, and you are stressed, the green that are hopefully in your refrigerator will bring life back into you. The live enzymes, chlorophyll and oxygen will melt away acidity, adrenal fatigue, and toxicity.

The Throat Chakra / Vishuddha

Throat Chakra Symbol

The throat chakra is blue and located in the throat area. This is the communication chakra. When it is healthy, you speak up for your beliefs. The gathering of information within this energy leads the way to enlightenment in the next two chakras (energy centers).

Jamal (2013) maintains that blue is for calming. Black and blueberries (and other blue and black food) help tonify kidneys, anxiety and aid in being honest.

The Pineal Gland / The Third Eye Chakra / Ajna

Third Eye Chakra Symbol

The 3rd eye chakra is Indigo or purple and located above the brows in the middle of the forehead on the outside but it is truly located in the brain and is extremely small and looks like a pinecone. It is the seat of intuition and below the Divine crown chakra. All of the chakras below this one gather information and it is read here for your divine connection.

Jamal (2013) states that violet is for peace. Purple kale, purple carrots, concord grapes and eggplant etc. help bring you peace, and calm your energy, anger and frustration making it easier for you to forgive. “Whip up a fresh smoothie with your favorite purple foods!”

The prowess of pineapple
Did you know that pineapple decalcifies the pineal gland (third eye)? Both pineal and pineapple begin with pine…hmmm 🙂

The pineal gland is like a natural magnet to fluoride which is in most of your bottled water and toothpaste. Stay away from fluoride. Tom’s of Maine toothpaste is fluoride-free and drink spring water if you are not already doing so.

The Crown Chakra / Sahasrara

crown chakra symbol

The crown chakra is white. You will see the symbol in either violet or white. It is located on the top of the head in the crown area. It is defined as light, as transcendence. This is our divine space and connects us with the universe and to other beings and the divine.

According to Jamal (2013) white is for strength. Foods that will give you power and strength, and lessen the feeling of being defeated are garlic, mushrooms, coconut, onion, ginger, lychee, and other tropical fruits.

For a while, no matter how much heart work I thought I accomplished, my body was in constant need of green food (heart chakra being green). I seriously ate asparagus and olives every day and if I didn’t, I ate salad, sometimes twice or more per day.

Stress and pain lead to dis-ease (disease), an imbalance in harmony. We are supposed to live in harmony and our vibrations should be high or else we manifest the lowest of energy. When we do shadow work to heal ourselves, many things come up; however, there are some things so deeply rooted inside of us that the things that stay buried continue to hurt us.

My heart has been hurt many times from an ex and family members leading to a constant craving for green food which led me to realize that I needed to meditate more and do shadow work in order to get to the root of my dis-ease. This craving, if you are wondering is actually our higher selves (us, the soul / spiritual and divine part of us), informing us as to what we need.




We were trained to ignore our intuition so many of us do not realize why we have cravings and that all of the information we need is already inside of us, including how to cure all of our ailments.

There is something else that may bother you without you knowing. Forgiveness and karma. You must work through ways to forgive yourself. If you cannot forgive yourself for something that you have done or for who you are then your results will be low self-esteem, maybe misery, but whatever it is, it is disharmonious.

When you cannot forgive another for something they have done to you, that person probably will not gain your authentic apology in order to be set free from the karma / experience s/he is enduring for hurting you. An authentic deep given and deep-felt apology should be given in order to set pain free from the person hurting.

In doing so, you and the person that hurt you should find this experience a lesson that was needed and then be able to move on. Therefore; you may want to think about this in your shadow work. Unfortunately, people who do not know this will have to endure the karma throughout this and even other lifetimes. Nip it in the bud. Maybe the best thing to do is to navigate your own journey and don’t hurt other people. Selfishness is not selflessness. There is too much beauty in life to share ugliness. Focus on the beauty and don’t hurt others. You reap what you sew and others do as well.

Learn to start checking ingredients. You should know what is going into your body. Your body; after all, is your temple.

Jamal, Z.S. (2013) Balance Your Chakras with Food. Retrieved from

Chakra images retrieved here

For more information regarding chakras, click here